The university where I teach bears little resemblance to the college and universities that I attended as an undergraduate and graduate student. I have seen my students change over the years, moving away from the notebook, to the laptop, and finally to a variety of mobile devices. My own tools have changed as well, as I have moved from a blackboard and slides, to the cloud with digital images.

The first challenge for me is engagement and connection of my students to the material that we are studying. I have used several different tools over the years, but the first step was simply to tell them to turn on their devices and use them. This video is from a few years ago, but it shows some of my early classroom usage of Twitter in the classroom and a discussion of the classroom without walls.

Reā€¢Inventing Art History from Arkansas State University on Vimeo.

